Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

Acousmatic Journeys

Sunday 29 November, 6pm
Online Event

Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

Ashley Pegram Turbulence
Fabio Fabbri Ruah
Ivano Pecorini Dies Irae
Julia Mermelstein Wonted
Léa Boudreau Recovery
Logan Barrett Parachute
Yixuan Zhao Spin
John Young Three Spaces in Mid-Air

In this concert, we spotlight composer John Young, Professor in Composition at De Montfort University in Leicester. The concert features a series of electronic compositions including a new work by John Young and the top works John selected from our international call for new acousmatic music.



To see full line up, please visit the main festival page  Blue arrow linking to festival main page

About the composers (click to expand)

Photo of Logan BarrettLogan Barrett is a composer and pianist currently based in Rochester, New York. His compositional interests include the use of number sequences in compositional technique, extended just intonation systems, and electroacoustic improvisation using Pure Data. His music is often stylistically diverse, with each piece embodying a unique compositional process and sound world. 

Photo of Léa BoudreauLéa Boudreau is a sound artist based in Montréal shaping her art around circuit-bending and DIY. Through electroacoustic music and performances, she explores the unexpected qualities of second-hand objects while integrating a touch of humour and playfulness. She was awarded many prizes in the last years and her projects have been broadcasted and performed around the globe.

Photo of Fabio FabbriFabio Fabbri achieved a second level academic qualification cum laude with highest marks and mention of honour from Conservatorio “G.Puccini” in La Spezia, Italy as well as at the Hodgson School in Athens (Atlanta). His works have been executed at the Festivals Nuovi orizzonti sonori, New York Electroacoustic Music Festival 2018, Barcelona Zeppelin 2018, Leicester Convergence 2019, Barcelona Flexus Project 2019, NACUSA Mid-South composers concert at the University of North Georgia, Monterrey Ecos urbanos Festival de arte sonoro y transmedia 2019, University of Tennessee Contemporary Music Festival 2020, MOXsonic Missouri Experimental Sonic Arts 2020, New York Electroacoustic Music Festival 2020, Turin SMC 2020, Chile ICMC 2020. 

Photo of Julia MermelsteinToronto-based composer Julia Mermelstein blends electronic soundscapes and choreography into performances that create a space for introspection and the surreal. Her music has been performed by Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, North/South Chamber Orchestra, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Bozzini String Quartet, and collaborations with Leslie Ting, Barbara Pritchard, Ilana Waniuk, and Din of Shadows. 

Photo of Ivano Pecorin
Ivano Pecorini 
is a composer, and sound artist based in London. His works moving across experimental approaches and aesthetic investigations, focused on the manipulation and mixture between concrete materials, synthesis and acoustic instruments. Ivano’s body of work maintains both a sharp creative focus and a wide-eyed spirit of exploration, creating unexpected electronic soundscapes. He investigates the relationship between timbre and harmony through electro-acoustic compositions, A/V music, and sound art. 

Photo of Ashley PegramAshley Pegram is an experimental composer studying MA Sound at Bath Spa University. His work draws heavily on themes from literature, philosophy and science. He is currently working on a group exhibition as part of the Porthleven Prize and is collaborating with visual artist Ione Parkin on a series of planetarium shows. 

Photo of John YoungJohn Young is Professor of Composition in the Institute for Sonic Creativity at De Montfort University, Leicester. His output includes multi-channel acousmatic pieces, large-scale radiophonic work, and music combining instruments and electroacoustic sounds. Influenced by spectralist ideas, his music focuses on the use computer technology to transform, disassemble and reassemble sounds in new ways to create sonic drama and musical development. Some of his recent work has used oral history and archival recordings in a narrative-based approach to electroacoustic music.

Photo of Yixuan ZhaoYixuan Zhao is a composer and synthesizer musician, member of Electroacoustic Music Association of China, currently a PhD candidate at Central Conservatory of Music, China, a visiting researcher at Integra Lab, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, UK. Her works, which mainly focuses on electroacoustic music, interactive music and contemporary music, have been performed internationally.



De Montfort University Professor of Composition John Young joins University of Nottingham Associate composer Elizabeth Kelly to discuss acousmatic music, including his composition, Three Spaces in Mid-Air, and how you might approach listening to the other acousmatic works he selected for this concert from our international call.


blue sound wave