What’s on

Find theatre, classical & chamber music, world, folk & jazz gigs, live comedy, dance performances, children's shows, free talks and workshops, as well as our visual art exhibitions and museum programme below.

16 events
  • Romantic Facts and Fantasies Loading...
    Special Collections

    Romantic Facts and Fantasies

    Friday 10 May - Sunday 25 August

    Culture and Heritage of the romantic Age, c. 1780-1840.

  • Laura McCafferty Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Laura McCafferty

    Saturday 01 June - Sunday 25 August

    Since completing her Master of Fine Arts at Goldsmiths, University of London in 2016, Laura McCafferty has developed an interdisciplinary approach to her work, combining drawing, textiles and performance to ‘subtly mess with what’s expected’. 

  • Lakeside Young Artists Summer Showcase Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Lakeside Young Artists Summer Showcase

    Saturday 06 July - Sunday 28 July

    This newly formed group of young creatives has been meeting at Lakeside since January 2019. See the fruits of their labour in this exhibition.

  • University Summer Exhibition Loading...
    Exhibitions

    University Summer Exhibition

    Saturday 13 July - Saturday 27 July

    This popular annual event provides a showcase for the talents of students, staff and alumni of the university and an ideal opportunity to buy modestly priced works of art.

  • Talk - I am Ashurbanipal Loading...
    Museum

    Talk - I am Ashurbanipal

    Wednesday 24 July

    Curator Dr Gareth Brereton will talk about the recent BP exhibition I am Ashurbanipal: king of the world, king of Assyria.

  • Talk - Paupers and Poetry: The Workhouse at Southwell Loading...
    Special Collections

    Talk - Paupers and Poetry: The Workhouse at Southwell

    Friday 26 July

    This talk by Dr Charlotte May will focus on the Workhouse at Southwell, Nottinghamshire, whose founder was a close connection of the poet Lord Byron.

  • Oddsocks: A Midsummer Night’s Dream Loading...
    Theatre

    Oddsocks: A Midsummer Night’s Dream

    Friday 26 July

    Oddsocks invite you to join them for a festival of music, magic and mayhem as they bring that Shakespearean favourite, A Midsummer Night’s Dream to life.

     

  • Dance4 CAT: End of Year Performance Loading...
    Theatre

    Dance4 CAT: End of Year Performance

    Friday 02 August

    A fantastic opportunity to see a great night of performances from the Dance4 Centre for Advanced Training students.

  • Rosemary Wels Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Rosemary Wels

    Saturday 03 August - Sunday 15 September

    A recent body of paintings exploring visions of the city through the disorientating lens of rain-washed windscreens.

  • Summer School: Create a Play in a Week Loading...
    Take Part & Learn

    Summer School: Create a Play in a Week

    Monday 05 August - Friday 09 August

    Retell the story of Persephone and her banishment to the underworld, in a new and dark explanation of why England is permanently suffering from an incurable condition known as weather. 

  • Summer School: Highfields Loading...
    Take Part & Learn

    Summer School: Highfields

    Tuesday 13 August - Thursday 15 August

    Discover more about Highfields Park including its wildlife, history and people.

  • Summer School: Wrap Loading...
    Take Part & Learn

    Summer School: Wrap

    Monday 19 August - Friday 23 August

    Camouflage, capes and curtains – these are some of the textile creations young eople will be making.