Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

Arcadia Quartet

Saturday 20 November, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall



1 hour 15 minutes including interval

Schubert String Quartet No.12 in C minor, ‘Quartettsatz’, D.703
Janáček String Quartet No.1 'Kreutzer Sonata’
Mendelssohn String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80

Praised for its rich sonority and the searing emotional intensity of its performances, the Arcadia Quartet from Romania returns to Lakeside for a concert of profoundly moving music. Janáček’s ‘Kreutzer Sonata’ mirrors the passion, conflict and drama of Tolstoy’s novella. Grief-stricken from his sister’s sudden death in 1847, Mendelssohn’s virtuosic final string quartet is imbued with anguish, relieved by the lyrical tenderness of the Adagio.

The Romanian Arcadia Quartet certainly have the measure of the dramatic aspects of these remarkable works." 
BBC Music Magazine

They are not afraid to take matters to the extremes which Janáček invites [...] a bold but thoughtful performance of the two remarkable works."
Gramophone Magazine


Thanks to the generous support of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust we are able to offer young people aged 8-25 free tickets to this concert. Click here for information on how to apply for the CAVATINA membership scheme.