What’s on

27 events
  • Weather Extremes: Making and Breaking Records in Nottinghamshire Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Weather Extremes: Making and Breaking Records in Nottinghamshire

    Friday 16 December - Sunday 26 March

    This exhibition uses the materials held by the University of Nottingham's Manuscripts and Special Collections to explore the history of extreme weather events in Nottinghamshire and the surrounding areas.

  • Sarah Key: Worlds All at Sea Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Sarah Key: Worlds All at Sea

    Saturday 18 February - Monday 29 May

    A new body of work on paper initiated during the artist's residency on Cape Cornwall in 2015.

  • Winifred Nicholson: Liberation of Colour Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Winifred Nicholson: Liberation of Colour

    Saturday 04 March - Sunday 04 June

    Liberation of Colour explores the art of Winifred Nicholson (1893-1981) renowned for the faux naïve charm and scintillating colours of her flower still lives. 

  • GALLERY TOURS Winifred Nicholson Loading...
    Exhibitions

    GALLERY TOURS Winifred Nicholson

    Friday 31 March - Friday 12 May

    All of our lectures and talks are free but please book in advance by calling the Box Office on 0115 846 7777.

  • Assunta Del Buono Hawthorn: Spirit, Heart and Landscape Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Assunta Del Buono Hawthorn: Spirit, Heart and Landscape

    Saturday 01 April - Sunday 14 May

    A new body of photographic works inspired by thickets and hedgerows, and familiar sightings of hawthorn.

  • The Medieval World In Colour Loading...
    Exhibitions

    The Medieval World In Colour

    Saturday 01 April - Sunday 18 June

    Explore the medieval world through the colours used and encountered in everyday life. Illuminating the medieval world in a rich spectrum, this unique temporary exhibition paints the vibrant twin worlds of secular and religious life.

  • Still Life Collagraphs Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Still Life Collagraphs

    Sunday 02 April

    Participants will learn how to make original collagraph prints that are colourful and textured. 

  • Threads of Empire: Rule and Resistance in Colonial India, c.1740-1840 Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Threads of Empire: Rule and Resistance in Colonial India, c.1740-1840

    Thursday 13 April - Sunday 20 August

    This exhibition explores the rise of the British Empire in India between 1740 and 1840.

  • Lunchtime Talk - The 'Thin White Line': European Soldiers in Colonial India Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Lunchtime Talk - The 'Thin White Line': European Soldiers in Colonial India

    Thursday 20 April

    In this talk Dr Erica Wald, of Goldsmiths, University of London, explores the professional and daily lives of the European rank-and-file in India during the nineteenth century.

  • Make a Decorative Vase Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Make a Decorative Vase

    Sunday 23 April - Sunday 07 May

    In this 2 day course participants will be working under the expert guidance of Kit Anderson to create a small ceramic vase and tile, inspired by the bouquets of flowers in the Liberating Colour exhibition by Winifred Nicholson. 

  • Art Into Words - Using Exhibitions To Inspire New Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Art Into Words - Using Exhibitions To Inspire New

    Saturday 13 May

    Writer Clare Harvey will help participants use Winifred Nicholson's paintings to inspire new writing. 

  • Mono Screenprints Loading...
    Exhibitions

    Mono Screenprints

    Sunday 14 May

    A silkscreen day course