Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts

A woman clapping


Thanks to the generous support of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust we are able to offer young people aged 8-25 the fantastic opportunity to experience selected concerts absolutely free.

If you are aged 16-25 you can register on our CAVATINA membership scheme either by:

We will email you to confirm when your membership has been set up and you will then be able to book your free CAVATINA tickets.

Parents, Guardians and Carers can register their 8-15 year-olds on the CAVATINA membership scheme by creating an account online (if you don't already have one with us), and then sending your child’s name and date of birth to: We will email you to confirm when your child’s membership has been set up and you will be able to book their free CAVATINA tickets.

One ticket per CAVATINA member per concert. CAVATINA memberships expire on the members 26th birthday. Terms and conditions of sale apply.

Founded in 1998 with the aim of developing the next generation of chamber music lovers and players, the charity CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust exists to bring chamber music to young people, and young people to chamber music.



Saturday 20 November, 7.30pm
1 hour 15 minutes including interval

Schubert String Quartet No.12 in C minor, ‘Quartettsatz’, D.703
Janáček String Quartet No.1 'Kreutzer Sonata’
Mendelssohn String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80

Praised for its rich sonority and the searing emotional intensity of its performances, the Arcadia Quartet from Romania returns to Lakeside for a concert of profoundly moving music. Janáček’s ‘Kreutzer Sonata’ mirrors the passion, conflict and drama of Tolstoy’s novella. Grief-stricken from his sister’s sudden death in 1847, Mendelssohn’s virtuosic final string quartet is imbued with anguish, relieved by the lyrical tenderness of the Adagio.



Sunday 28 November, 3pm
1 hour 5 minutes (no interval)

As days shorten and winter draws in, the Amatis Trio returns for a Sunday afternoon concert which opens with Beethoven’s bright and congenial Op.11 trio scored for clarinet or violin. The theme and variations of the finale is based on a popular aria so well known in Viennese streets that it earned the nickname ‘Gassenhauer’. George Enescu’s music deserves more regular performances, his attractive Sérénade lointaine composed in 1903 was only discovered in 2004. The programme is completed with the first chamber work Brahms published, at the age of 21, but revised 35 years later as a mature composer.