Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Thursday 21 April, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£10 (£7 concessions)

Golani Trio Rivka Golani viola Alan Hacker clarinet Benjamin Frith piano Bruch from Eight Pieces Op.83 Schumann Märchenerzählungen Op.132 Mozart Trio in E flat K.498 Kegelstatt The Golani Trio comprises three eminent chamber musicians: Rivka Golani, recognised as one of the finest violists of modern times; Alan Hacker has an international reputation as a pioneer of the ‘authentic’ movement, using original instruments in the performance of classical and early romantic music and as an interpreter of new music; pianist Benjamin Frith is first prize-winner of the Artur Rubinstein International Piano Masters Competition. Mozart was the first to write for the combination of viola, clarinet and piano. The trio’s nickname derives from the story that Mozart wrote this work one evening after a game of skittles at a Viennese Kegelstatt or skittle alley. Although fifty years separates the composition of the Schumann and Bruch these lyrically expressive, Romantic pieces make engaging companions.