Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

University Philharmonia & University Choir

Saturday 29 November, 7.30pm
Other venues

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£13 (£10 concession)
£6 UoN students only

Jonathan Tilbrook - conductor Britten - ‘Four Sea Interludes’ from Peter Grimes Vaughan Williams - Symphony No.1 ‘A Sea Symphony’ The University Choir and Philharmonia join forces for a programme by 20th-century English composers inspired by the sea. Ralph Vaughan Williams’s first symphony is a tour-de-force for orchestra and large chorus that sets verses from Walt Whitman’s poems Leaves of Grass and Passage to India which convey the power and vastness of the ocean. The concert opens with Britten’s wonderfully evocative ‘Sea Interludes’ from Peter Grimes. The soloists for this concert are Alex Ashworth and Susanna Fairbairn. Please note: this concert will be performed at the Albert Hall, Nottingham.