Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

University Philharmonia- Sold Out

Sunday 23 February, 7.30pm
Other venues

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£11 (£9 concessions, £5 UoN)

Great Hall, Trent Building Jonathan Tilbrook conductor Robert Upton piano Kodaly - Dances of Galanta Shostakovich - Piano Concerto No.2 (Robert Upton piano) Beethoven - Symphony No.3 ‘Eroica’ In comparison to his other works, Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No.2 is a superbly free, thoughtful composition. Written as a birthday present for his nineteen-year-old son, the second movement is the most well-known, an expressive movement which secures the work’s continuing popularity. The other two movements are both vibrant, and full of elegance and entertainment. Beethoven's Eroica changed the symphony forever, exploding the conventions of the genre with music of previously unimaginable force, scale and expressive intensity.