Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Thursday 10 November, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£15 (£12 concession)

JS BACH Art of Fugue: excerpts MOZART String Quartet No1 in G, K80 BRUCKNER Intermezzo BRUCKNER String Quintet Bruckner’s String Quintet was written at the request of Joseph Hellmesberger, the Director of the Vienna Conservatoire. On completion in July 1879 Hellmesberger regarded the Scherzo as being too technically challenging so Bruckner composed the Intermezzo which we also hear this evening, as a replacement movement. The emotional core of the Quintet, however, is the Adagio with its expansive, contemplative mood. Bruckner’s contrapuntal techniques owe much to his study of Bach’s music and the concert opens with selections from Art of Fugue. Mozart’s first string quartet written when he was 14 completes the programme. The concert finishes at approximately 9.15pm 6.45pm Pre-concert talk by Alan George