Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Saturday 05 March, 7:30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£15 (£12 Concession)

Viols: Susanna Pell Asako Morikawa Liam Byrne Reiko Ichise Richard Tunnicliffe Richard Boothby BACH Goldberg Variations, BWV988 Following on from Fretwork’s highly praised recordings and performances of both Die Kunst der Fuge (The Art of Fugue) and ‘Alio Modo’ they bring a new arrangement of the pinnacle of Bach’s keyboard works, the ‘Aria mit verschiedenen Veränderungen’ or Goldberg Variations BWV988. This brilliant and necessarily virtuosic arrangement encompasses the complete work, all 32 movements, and employs all six viols of the ensemble. It turns Bach’s extraordinary keyboard virtuosity into a challenging ensemble work, unparalleled in the viol consort repertory. “Fretwork is the finest viol consort on the planet.’’ The London Evening Standard The concert finishes at approximately 8.50pm