Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail
Choir of the Age of Enlightenment

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Tuesday 14 December, 7.30pm
Other venues

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£8 - £22
For tickets call 0115 989 5555

THIS EVENT TOOK PLACE IN 2010 Southwell Minster, To book tickets please contact the Royal Concert Hall Box Office on 0115 989 5555. John Butt, conductor Julia Doyle, soprano Meg Bragle, mezzo-soprano Nicholas Mulroy, tenor Matthew Brook, bass JS BACH Christmas Oratorio parts 1, 2, 3 and 6 Bach’s Christmas Oratorio launches an exciting joint musical venture at Southwell Minster. The Orchestra and Choir of the Age of Enlightenment perform four of the six cantatas that Bach combined to celebrate the festivities of 1734-35. Drawing on texts from the gospels of St Luke and St Matthew the Christmas story is dramatically retold by a quartet of vocal soloists and a series of inspiring choruses. Bach’s imagination knows no bounds, his matching of voices and instruments never less than extraordinary. The concert finishes at approximately 9.50pm