Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Saturday 24 April, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£12 (£9 Concession)

UNFORTUNATLEY THIS CONCERT HAS HAD TO BE CANCELLED DUE TO THE SITUATION WITH LACK OF FLIGHTS. Three of the artists are currently overseas. We are now working with the agent to confirm an alternative date in the autumn season. The Box Office team will be in touch with people who have booked to inform them of the situation and to arrange refunds if required. William Howard, piano Simon Blendis, violin Douglas Paterson, viola Jane Salmon, cello MONTEVERDI arr. Anthony Powers Lamento della Ninfa Anthony POWERS Nightsongs for Piano Quartet WEBER Piano Quartet in B flat BRAHMS Piano Quartet No.1 in G minor, Op.25 Taking Monteverdi’s madrigal ‘Lamento della Ninfa’ as its inspiration, Anthony Powers’s Nightsongs is a hauntingly atmospheric response to the famous and magically beautiful gardens at Ninfa, the ancient settlement southeast of Rome. Weber’s youthful Piano Quartet is full of sparkling exuberance, with a demanding piano part that Weber wrote to show off his own pianistic brilliance. Brahms’s Piano Quartet in G minor completes the programme with a rousing gypsy finale. “...they gave a performance so forthright and passionate that at times it sounded as if a chamber orchestra were playing. A hugely impressive concert” The Strad. The concert finishes at approximately 9.15pm