Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Saturday 17 October, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above


THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2009 Jonathan Tilbrook, conductor Elisheba Stevens, cello MOZART Symphony No.1 in E flat, K16 HAYDN Cello Concerto in C PÄRT Summa POULENC Sinfonietta The University Philharmonia begins the year with a delightful programme of classical and neo-classical wit and elegance. Composed in London in 1764, when Mozart was all of eight years of age, the symphony K16 - which may not in fact have been his first, but still seems the most likely contender - reveals a precocious command of the form with music which combines vivacity and humour in the outer movements and a weighty seriousness and sense of drama in the central Andante. Third-year undergraduate music student, Elisheba Stevens, takes the solo role in Haydn’s cello concerto. The programme is completed with Arvo Pärt’s quietly contemplative Summa, (a version for strings of a vocal work with the same name which sets the ‘Credo’ text from the Mass) and Poulenc’s gloriously witty, urbane and light-hearted Sinfonietta - written for the BBC in 1947. The concert finishes at approximately 9.10pm