Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Saturday 03 October, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above


THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2009 BIBER Rosary Sonata No.I (The Annunciation) BIBER Rosary Sonata No.IV (The Presentation in the Temple) MUFFAT Passacaglia in G minor for harpsichord WALTHER Serenata No.28 from Hortulus Chelicus BIBER Rosary Sonata No.VII (The Agony in the Garden, Lamento) FROBERGER Suite XII in C major for harpsichord ‘Lamento Sopra la dolorosa perdita di Ferdinando IV’ SCHMELZER ‘Sonata Quarta’ from Sonatae per unarum fidium BACH ‘Ciaccona’ from Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV1004 Baroque violin specialist Elizabeth Wallfisch returns with a programme of virtuosic and extraordinarily beautiful works by the leading violinist-composers of the 17th-century. Biber’s ‘Mystery’ or ‘Rosary’ Sonatas were written to complement the 15 meditations on the life of Christ and the Virgin Mary. Schmelzer was a significant influence on Biber who may have been one of his pupils. Walther’s Hortulus Chelicus is one of the most important collections of 17th-century violin music. The highly unusual Serenata requires the violinist to imitate a surprising array of instruments including harp, trumpet, hurdy-gurdy and timpani. Bach’s monumental ‘Ciaccona’ from the D minor Partita, one of the most technically and musically demanding works for violin, completes the programme. The concert finishes at approximately 9.20pm