Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Sunday 07 December, 7.30pm
Great Hall, Trent Building

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£4 UoN Student
£8 (£5 Concession)

THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2008 Simon MacRae, conductors Tom Philipott BORODIN Overture to 'Prince Igor' COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2 in D The concert opens with Borodin's dramatic overture to his ballet, Prince Igor. A suite from Copland's ballet, Appalachian Spring, follows and charts the story of the honesty, humility and simplicity of a pioneering American frontier couple at the turn of the 19th-century. A rough parchment of Nordic saga follows as passion and struggle join witchcraft in Sibelius' impatient masterpiece.