Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Saturday 14 February, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£12 (£9 Concession)

THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2009 Tim Vogler, violin Frank Reinecke, violin Stefan Fehlandt, viola Stephan Forck, violon cello HAYDN String Quartet in C, Op.74/1 Erwin SCHULHOFF String Quartet No.1 BEETHOVEN String Quartet in E minor Op.59 No.2 The concert opens with Haydn’s sparkling String Quartet in C, Op.74/1, one of six quartets dedicated to the Hungarian aristocrat Count Apponyi that were nonetheless intended for public concert and first performed in the 1794 London season. Erwin Schulhoff’s String Quartet No.1 was written in 1924 and draws inspiration from Czech and Slovak folk music and rhythms. Completing the programme, Beethoven’s second ‘Razumovsky’ Quartet is dramatic and profoundly moving. The concert finishes at approximately 9.10pm