Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Thursday 05 February, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£12 (£9 Concession)

THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2009 Gerhard Schulz, violin Guy Ben-Ziony, viola Lilia Schulz-Bayrova, cello Noam Greenberg, piano Please note there has been a change of personnel for this programme with Guy Ben-Ziony replacing Isabel Charisius. REGER String Trio in A minor, Op.77b FAURÉ Piano Quartet No.1 in C minor, Op.15 DVORÁK Piano Quartet No.2 in E flat, Op.87 The Waldstein Ensemble was founded in 2008 by Gerhard Schulz and Isabel Charisius who were members of the world famous Alban Berg String Quartet, along with Bulgarian cellist Lilia Schulz-Bayrova and Israeli pianist Noam Greenberg. Reger wrote his String Trio in A minor in 1904 in homage to the rococo elegance of Mozart’s music. Although an early work, there is an emotional intensity toFauré’s First Piano Quartet. Dvorák completed his second piano quartet a week before starting on the Eighth Symphony. The grand sweeping gestures and changes of mood are at times symphonic in conception and it remains one of his most popular chamber works. The concert finishes at approximately 9.25pm