Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Thursday 13 November, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above


THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2008 Christoph Henschel, violin Markus Henschel, violin Monika Henschel-Schwind, viola Mathias Beyer-Karlshøj, cello MENDELSSOHN Four Pieces for String Quartet, Op.81 JANÁČEK String Quartet No.1 in E minor, 'Kreutzersonate' HAYDN String Quartet in B flat, Op.71/1 MENDELSSOHN String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80 The Henschel Quartet has firmly established itself as one of the leading young European quartets. Their programme for Lakeside includes Mendelssohn's tragic last quartet, Op.80 in F minor written after the devastating death of Mendelssohn's sister in 1847 and the Four Pieces Op.81 that were published with the Op.80 quartet shortly before Mendelssohn's own death. Janáček's first quartet was inspired by Tolstoy's novel 'The Kreutzer Sonata' which was itself inspired by Beethoven's ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata for Violin and Piano. ‘…they showed why they are still very much in demand on the international circuit. They delivered the full-blooded argument of Janáček`s String Quartet No.1 with invigorating bite.’ - Nick Shave, The Strad The concert finishes at approximately 9.20pm