Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail


Thursday 23 October, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above


THIS PERFORMANCE TOOK PLACE IN 2008 SCHULHOFF Five Pieces for String Quartet HAYDN String Quartet in C, Op.20/2 BRAHMS String Quartet No.1 in C minor Schulhoff’s Five Pieces for String Quartet is loosely based on a baroque dance suite drawing on a range of influences from Czech folk music to Schoenberg. Haydn's Op. 20 ‘Sun quartets’ are considered to be largely responsible for establishing the fast – slow – minuet – fast structure that is still largely used by composers today. Brahms’ romantic first quartet concludes the programme. The work is bound by the use of thematic material heard throughout all four movements and has a rather tragic ending, perhaps in answer to the searching theme heard at the very start of the quartet. 6.45pm Pre-concert talk by Philip Weller The concert finishes at approximately 9.10pm.