Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail
Inaugural Lecture

Allegri String Quartet

Friday 18 April, 5pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Theatre & Dance
Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

Admission Free


Click here to listen to a sample of the Borodin Quartet with Ivan Mozgovenko performing the Brahms - Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op.115: Movement III, Andantino.



BRAHMS AND A RETIREMENT POSTPONED On the occasion of his new appointment at the University Professor Robert Pascall will talk on Brahms’s decision to retire from composing altogether in 1890 and what then happened, including the composition of the Clarinet Quintet. His talk will be illustrated by a performance of the slow movement of this masterpiece given by Catherine Hocking and the Allegri String Quartet. Admission is free and there will be complimentary refreshments in the foyer afterwards.