Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail
The Complete Piano Sonatas

Beethoven 250: Katya Apekisheva

Saturday 16 May, 3pm
Djanogly Recital Hall



Approx. 1 hour 40 minutes including interval
Beethoven: The Complete Piano Sonatas

Piano Sonata No.19 in G minor, Op.49 No.1
Piano Sonata No.3 in C major, Op.2 No.3
Piano Sonata No.5 in C minor, Op.10 No.1
Piano Sonata No.26 in E flat major, Op.81a ‘Les Adieux’

Post-concert Q&A with Katya Apekisheva
5 minutes after the performance

Described as a ‘profoundly gifted artist’ by Gramophone magazine, Russian pianist Katya Apekisheva is one of Europe’s most renowned pianists with a breathtakingly delicate technique. She is also half of a successful piano duo with another of our Beethoven series soloists, Charles Owen. Her programme contrasts three of Beethoven’s earliest Sonatas with the poignant ‘Les Adieux’, written over a decade later.

Though published as Op. 49, Sonata No. 19 was written around the same time as Nos. 3 and 5, and is a simple work, small in scale but perfectly proportioned. The grand Sonata No. 3 ends with a brilliant, witty rondo, one of the hallmarks of Beethoven’s early style and Sonata No. 5 ends with a characterful finale in C minor that anticipates the opening of the famous Fifth Symphony he would compose ten years later.

Beethoven preferred the title ‘Lebewohl’ (The Farewell) for his Sonata No.26, as it was written when his close friend and pupil Archduke Rudolph was forced to flee Vienna from the invading French army. It’s one of the few sonatas where Beethoven provided expressive descriptions for each of the three movements, which describe the sadness over his friend’s departure, the feeling of emptiness in ‘The Absence’, and the joyous, animated ‘Reunion’, which ends in happy contentment.

Lakeside Arts and Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall logos

Please note: the standard concessionary ticket price for this and other concerts in the Festival is £4 off the cost of a full price ticket. Concessions are available to: People with a disability; those in receipt of Universal Credit, Jobseeker’s Allowance, Income Support or Pension Credit. £5 tickets are available for those under 16 years of age, in Further and Higher Education, UoN Students and Go Card holders. Due to limited capacity, for Festival performances in the Djanogly Recital Hall these tickets are limited to 20 per concert until two hours 30 minutes prior to the event start time. A free ticket for a personal assistant (PA) is available for any deaf for disabled person who has purchased Festival tickets for either venue. However, for Royal Concert Hall performances, bookers will be required to join Theatre Royal Concert Hall’s Access Requirement Register.