Tai Murray Violin & Silke Avenhaus Piano

American-born violinist Tai Murray and pianist Silke Avenhaus, originally from Karlsruhe, Germany, transport us to Norway with Grieg’s second violin sonata composed in ‘the euphoria of my honeymoon’. Traditional Norwegian folk idioms and the drone of a hardanger fiddle meld joyful energy with moments of lyrical melancholy. Composed the year before the ‘Organ’ Symphony, Saint-Saëns’ sonata for violin and piano has a fiery moto perpetuo finale. Beethoven’s complex, masterful ‘Kreutzer’ sonata completes the programme.

Grieg: Violin Sonata No.2 in G, Op.13
Saint-Saëns: Violin Sonata No.1 in D minor
Beethoven: Violin Sonata No.9 in A, Op.47 ‘Kreutzer’

1 hour 45 minutes including interval