Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

Sacconi String Quartet, Jack McNeill: Clarinet and University Chamber Choir

Thursday 31 October, 8pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above


We pay tribute to Professor Robert Pascall, whose vision led to the building of the Djanogly Recital Hall with a performance of one of his favourite works, Brahms’s Clarinet Quintet. The concert also features the premiere of Howard Skempton’s settings of Viking poetry edited by Professor Judith Jesch which Lakeside commissioned especially for the University Chamber Choir.

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 ‘Serioso’
Howard Skempton: New Work – World Premiere
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op.115

1 hour 20 minutes (no interval)

Our autumn season is particularly auspicious as it marks the 25th anniversary of the Djanogly Recital Hall. Named as one of the ‘top 10 venues for chamber music in the UK’ these concerts celebrate the Recital Hall and extraordinary musicians – internationally renowned professionals, students and teachers – who have performed in it over the years.