vision string quartet

Schubert String Quartet in C minor (Quartettsatz), D703
Ligeti Quartet No.1 ‘Metamorphoses nocturnes’
Schubert Quartet in D minor D810 ‘Death and the Maiden’

The Berlin-based vision string quartet has established itself as one of the finest young string quartets of its generation. Juxtaposing classical string quartet repertoire and their own compositions, their programmes are performed standing up and completely from memory.

For this concert, they pair two much-loved quartets by Schubert with Ligeti’s first string quartet composed in 1953-4 in Budapest prior to the composer’s defection to Germany. A one-movement work, the 17 sections of wildly contrasting moods provide a sharp contrast to the Schubert that follows.

1 hour 45 minutes including interval