Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

Steven Osborne Piano

Thursday 07 February, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£18 (£17 concessions,
£10 students)

Schubert Piano Sonata in B flat, D960
Debussy Prelude ‘Des pas sur la neige’
Prokofiev Piano Sonata No.8

Steven Osborne has received many accolades including The Royal Philharmonic Society Instrumentalist of the Year (2013) and two Gramophone Awards. This concert features two masterpieces of the solo piano repertoire: Schubert’s final sonata premiered ten years after his death. Following Debussy’s haunting Footsteps in The Snow, the concert concludes with the last of Prokofiev’s ‘War Sonatas’. Composed  during World War II the sonata veers from gentle lyricism to abrasive angularity.

1 hour 45 minutes including interval

Nottingham Lakeside Arts gratefully acknowledges support of this concert from The John Bagley Music Trust.