Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

Navarra String Quartet

Navarra String Quartet
Thursday 30 November 7.30pm
1 hour 50 minutes including interval
Djanogly Recital Hall
£18 (£17 concessions, £10 students)

Haydn String Quartet No.32 in C, Op.20 No.2

Selections from ‘Les Vendredis’:
Nikolai Artciboucheff Serenade
Anatoly Lyadov Mazurka
Felix Blumenfeld Sarabande

Schubert String Quartet in G, D887

Haydn’s six string quartets Op.20 composed in 1772 are regarded as masterpieces of the genre. The concert includes a selection of ‘Les Vendredis’: string quartet pieces by Russian composers such as Rimsky-Korsakov, Liadov and Borodin that were performed at Friday evening concerts at the home of the music publisher Mitrofan Belyayev. Schubert’s profound masterpiece, the final string quartet composed in ten days in 1826 completes the programme.