Lakeside Arts
Part of University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts
Event Detail

Wihan Quartet & Sacconi Quartet

Thursday 02 November, 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

£20 (£18 concessions,
£10 students)

Wihan Quartet & Sacconi Quartet
Thursday 2 November, 7.30pm
1 hour 50 minutes including interval
Djanogly Recital Hall
£20 (£18 concessions, £10 students)

Shostakovich Two piece for String Octet, Op.11
Enescu String Octet, Op.7
Mendelssohn Octet in E flat, Op.20

All three string octets in this concert were written before the composers turned 20. Shostakovich’s two pieces for string octet - composed whilst a student at Leningrad Conservatory - are a chorale-like prelude followed by a fast and fiery Scherzo.

Mendelssohn’s sublime octet is the most well-known piece on the programme and is one of the most loved chamber works in the repertory but was written when he was aged only 16.

Inspired by Mendelssohn’s octet, Romanian composer George Enescu found writing his epic 40-minute work a challenge but this late Romantic work was hailed as an astonishing achievement when completed in 1900.

Please note: Due to injury, Tim Crawford will appear as part of the Sacconi Quartet, in place of Ben Hancox.