Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

University Philharmonia

Helen Kuby horn
Jonathan Tilbrook conductor

Mozart Symphony No.35 in D, K.385 ‘Haffner’
Strauss Horn Concerto No.1 in E flat, Op.11
Weill Symphony No.2

The first University concert for the year features 2nd-year Music student Helen Kuby as the soloist in Richard Strauss’s youthful First Horn Concerto composed at the age of 18 when he was himself a University student. Commissioned by the Princesse de Polignac, Kurt Weill’s Second Symphony was written as he fled Berlin in 1933 and received its premiere in a private performance in the Princess’s salon near Paris followed by a public performance in 1934 with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra conducted by Bruno Walter.