Please note this event has already taken place and you are viewing an archived page of the Lakeside website.
For a list of current events, exhibitions and workshops, please click on 'What's On' in the menu above

University Sinfonia

Alex Rickells & Neil Smith Conductors

Shostakovich Festive Overture
Khachaturian Masquerade Suite
Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain
Vaughan Williams Symphony No.5

University Sinfonia’s Autumn concert contrasts music from East and West. The concert opens in Russia with Shostakovich’s energetic Festive Overture. Following this is the Masquerade Suite by Khachaturian, friend of Shostakovich, characterised by its grand dance movements and elegant slower movements. Mussorgsky’s thrilling Night on Bald Mountain concludes the first half. The second half moves to England with Vaughan Williams’s beautiful Symphony No. 5.